Death's Head Hawkmoth

Back in April I bliped a horrible looking dried out bug found in a beehive. Had no idea what it was. Now I know!

Acherontia atropos (Greater death's head hawkmoth) normally not a resident in northern Europe but no doubt another cause of global warming, it is increasingly found even in southern Britain.

Rather a clever moth, it can even squeak, it rather likes honey and can get in to the hive despite being stung and mimics the smell of bees.

Saw this example at the local beekeepers shop. The owner had recently found and mounted it. It's wing span is 10cm and he says it has shrunk a bit in the last few weeks. I had gone to the shop to stock up on sugar fondant that I will shortly be feeding the bees once a round of varroa treatment with formic acid.

On the way home stopped of at Mr&MrsB who happened to be outdoors. I had phoned them prior to leaving to ask if they needed any bee supplies but no answer. I realised that it was time I started to Re-Blip when MrsB said an important part of her life was missing:

"Up in the morning, make a coffee, sit down with the newspaper, read the Death notices and then check out latest news on Blip"

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.