Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Rule Britannia?

Until today, Igor, our friendly Russian guide, has not used any visual aid to keep us as a group. For the Hermitage he decided that something else was required.

Everything is more sophisticated than 51 years ago - the time of my last visit - but some things have not changed. It is a long, long time to stand and hear a huge number of details about history of the Russian Royal Family and of various painters and sculptors. I was glad to come back to the hotel at the end, although I would not have missed the visit for the world (well that might be a slight exaggeration.......).

Here is Igor in the white dining room. I worried at one time that the flag might cause some damage as he waved it with gay abandon.

The weather has been too hot today. Sunny, dry and very hot, despite the weather forecast.

I have managed to take more in my newly conceived project on room attendants and some have smiled.

We will be off out again soon to find a meal and perhaps a boat trip.

Only 1 full day to go now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.