Sauveterre de Rouerge

I feel like I've not been to a night market here for years. I unexpectedly saw several people that I knew. The American couple, the guy is a human rights lawyer, the Marseilles couple (I know his Dad and did know his lovely mother who sadly died this year- she held no prisoners when driving fast on the windy roads around here), the ex-monk (French) waved over to me, he's lovely and rather philosophical, a couple from Herefordshire who I have not seen for about three years (Stonemason and dyslexia teacher). I met an artist from New York and sat next to a group of four from the neighbouring village 'Cabannes'.

I was introduced to people who have 'heard about me' but I have never met or heard of. I didn't speak much tonight but shook hands, nodded and kissed  (Aveyron bissous). I felt like a bystander all night, interested but watchful.

I bought two jars of raw honey, full of wax and propolis from one of the most interesting market stall holders I have ever met. MrH's dad offered to go with me as he knows the stall holder but I was happy to go it alone and check the stall out at my own pace. I hope it will see me through winter. I am a big believer in the benefits of raw honey which is a real challenge to source in the UK, I'm near the bottom of the jar I got in Utah. It's about 100 times better than that Manuka honey stuff :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.