TÜV - MOT

Finally have a Thursday midday free when I can get to the local agricultural engineers, Frick & Aurbacher, to get the tractor through the biennial (not biannual) inspection.

Just after leaving home, I was overtaken by the Fendt with trailer on the right. We arrived 5km later at almost the same time despite his 40kmh+ against my 25kmh. I took a back road.

So I had no problem parking alongside the showy types. There was a lot of activity, I think about 10 vehicles and trailers to be done. The tests are carried out by the independent inspector but one of the owners of the business sits on the machines for all the tests of lights, brakes etc.

Max's steering replacements and everything else passed through. I had remembered Max's tip to squeeze in as much grease as possible in to the steering parts. Makes everything feel a bit tighter and not as wobbly as it usually is. Did get an official failure for the battery connections not having plastic covers, but not sufficient to refuse a pass.

So happy I cruised home ........and now have 24 months quiet, I hope. The MOT had run out in February and so would normally only have got the OK until Feb 2018 but having paid a 9 Euro fine, it is valid until August 2018. Suits me much better - driving a cabriolet to be tested in February is not fun.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.