*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

My Year in Film 192/366

Flowers in Moo's garden
Camera: Fujifilm Instax Mini 70
Film: Fujifilm Instax Mini Film

Another day of anxiety.

We rang 111 first thing and they got my mum an emergency appointment at Bassetlaw Hospital that morning. My brother, James, took her and I stayed with my dad at home.

Spent the entire day pacing about (hence the garden blip) and god knows how many texts must have gone back and forth between James and me.

They were there all day and the hospital did loads of blood tests, scans and xrays. By the evening they said she'd be kept in at least overnight so my brother came over and picked dad and me up so we could go and see her and I took her some things.

She was still in A&E, waiting for a bed on a ward. We stayed at the hospital until quite late and thankfully were still there when the consultant came round. They'd discovered several clots in her heart and lungs (pulmonary embolisms). It all sounded pretty grim when he was telling us. They needed to keep her in to blast her with warfarin to try and break down the clots and to monitor her. The doctor assured us that they treat it successfully in the vast majority of cases which made us feel more positive. We stayed with my mum for a while longer to see her safely on the ward before we went but it was starting to get very late so in the end we had to leave. 

Went home with a heavy heart but hopeful that all would be well eventually. It also brought it home to me how much the NHS needed that promised £350 million a week. What very nice and very over-worked people the staff at Bassetlaw Hospital were and they showed such kindness and compassion to my mum and all of us. I honestly don't know how they do it. That A&E was rammed that evening. I had to help my mum to the toilet and a nurse stopped us and said she'd just go in and check everything was ok before we went in because they were unisex toilets and a drunk bloke had just come out. I know it sounds daft but I thought that was a really nice thing for her to do.

Backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.