Unveiling of the Welcome Poles

I went to a very special ceremony today at one of my favourite places here, Xwaaqw'um (Burgoyne Bay).    I'm including a link to a brief article about the event.   I know Harold Joe, the carver of the poles that were unveiled, and am close to the George family.  This photo is of Tousilum (Ron George), a Cowichan elder and a good friend who taught me many things when I worked in Cowichan territory.  I wish this were a better photo; the light was challenging, and taking photos wasn't my main priority today.  It was fantastic to reconnect with so many of the members of the George family and to see one of the younger members, whom I've known since he was a young man, in the leadership role as the speaker for the event.  Simuletse (Stuart Pagaduan) is a terrific artist and a real leader in his community, and it was a privilege to witness him in that role.   So many hugs, so much to talk about, and I won't leave it so long before I see these friends again.
It was a beautiful day for the unveiling of the poles and for the naming of a family member.  Drumming, singing, dancing, a feast, a giveaway, hearing the Hul'q'umi'num language spoken on traditional territory again, much hugging and conversation - I loved every second of it.  I felt quite special, sitting with the George family and being a part of this wonderful day.  It was great to see many people take in the event and acknowledge the First Peoples of this country.
I'll blip the poles soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.