A good day

The idea was to visit Botanic Gardens in Adelaide this afternoon, just for something different, and what a mistake that was.  No car parks to be had and the place was crawling with people, so I came home again, and took Mishka for a walk around the lake instead.

I';m sure she appreciated it, and it really is the most stunning beautiful day, which is a great relief after all the rain and cold we have had lately.  the lake had even more water in it than last week.

And we went to State Flora - they have just taken delivery of some finger limes, so I bought one, and I shall be sure to plant it somewhere quite out of the way, as it has the most vicious spines.  I'll tuck it in a corner somewhere, so no-one can get impaled.  Fingers Lime are THE NEXT BIG THING in horticulture.  They are a native bush food, and quite delicious.  I hope I can grow it successfully, but other citrus does well here, so I'm not that worried.

Because they are so spiny, they are also good protection for little birds - so it's all good.

The image is of the first hover fly of the season, taken at State Flora, on a thryptomene bush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.