The Day after the Night Before

All was quiet and sunny on the home front at 8am this morning as I poked my nose out of the back door. His Lordship and I were about to swop our allegiance to the temple of toast for a visit to the new toast trattoria recently opened near us. We did feel somewhat guilty after at least 2 years of devotion to the former, but a change is as good as a holiday and will not be permanent.

Our evening last night was so enjoyable it is just a pity we don't do this more often.
There was a time in the 70s and early 80s when dinner parties were all the rage and the currency for baby sitting was beans. It seems that now baby sitting is no longer an issue, the number of dinner parties has become almost negligible in our small circle of bus pass holders, probably because one of us is not socially inclined and the other one hates cooking. No prizes for guessing which label applies to whom.

However last night was a huge success with a lucky seven seated round the very table that I sat at over 60 years ago. There was even the chance to see a tiny bit of film taken at that time showing my friend and me, aged about 13, at the table. Knowing I was being filmed, I was daintily eating what looked like a biscuit and was most certainly not a scone........... the scones came much, much later!
A big thank you to Catherine and Robin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.