Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

A nice end to the day

It has been pretty much a cloudless day and remained so tonight so just a golden sunset.  This was at the Lake near Belmont.
 
This morning was markets but how very dare they.  They moved them to Speers point.  The good thing was that I had seen an Osprey carrying a fish to the top of some Norfolk Island Pines some weeks ago as I was driving to the nursing home and today on the way to the markets noticed the nest.  I think there are two fairly full grown chicks (see extras).  I had seen mum or dad earlier and there was a lot of "mine mine mine" goings on from the nest.  By the time I had parked and walked back there I could only see what I think are the chicks.  There were a couple of dead birds (seagull and something else) at the bottom of the pines and I wonder if they were done in by the Ospreys.  The nest is huge and would be nearly two metres across.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.