WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Indecision

I really couldn't decide which photo to blip today. This one got the nod because it has a person in it. Taken at the pottery market in Lagrasse; see extra for alternative. I bought a nice little bowl.

Yesterday is backblipped ... when I got back from the concert last night a few people were sitting in the little square beside our house playing music and chatting. I didn't think anything of it and by the time I got to bed, around midnight, it was quiet. Imagine my surprise to wake up at 2 a.m. to the sound of pounding bass and lots of shrieking. 3 a.m. ... the same. I was still awake at 3:30, so I peered out of the kitchen window and instead of the gaggle of drunk 20-somethings I expected, I spotted a number of people I recognised, who were definitely old enough to know better, although they did fit the "drunk" category. By 4 a.m. I had concluded they'd be carrying on till dawn if someone didn't do something. The bass and shrieks now seemed to be accompanied by barrel-rolling. Mystère had come in and was quivering under the table. I stomped downstairs and yelled at them out of the window. Swear words may have been used. The one person who appeared to have heard me over the racket just gazed blankly at me.

When I returned fuming to the bedroom, a bemused S wondered what the problem was. Did I mention he'd put earplugs in when he went to bed? He kindly supplied me with some. My remonstrations had had no effect, but neighbour G went out about half an hour later and had a go at them. He's bigger than me, and it worked. Post-mortems among neighbours this morning concluded that it was city types who come to the country and do what they like, careless of the consequences ... in the 20 years we have lived here I have never, ever complained about noise, which is a given in summer, but there are limits. Rant over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.