Raindrops on the Web

I think I have mentioned that it's been raining quite a bit here lately. Every other day or so, it rains. Why have I noticed? Well, there are two reasons. First, we had a drought for much of the middle of summer - no rain in sight. How we thirsted for the rain, but it never came.

And second, my husband and I have been trying to get to a major household project. It's time to seal the driveway, which is a thing you should only do when it's dry for several days so that the sealant dries properly.

Buying the buckets of sealant earlier this month turned out to be the rain dance we all needed; it's rained consistently ever since. I guess we should have bought it back in July, to save us all that misery and drought.

On this morning, we awoke to rain. And it rained steadily for several hours. No big electric storm, with fireworks, thunder-boomer style, just steady rain. It was so lovely that my husband and I sat on the front porch for a while with our coffees, just watching and listening to the rain.

In the afternoon, the skies cleared, and all the rain moved out and headed east toward the coast. I went outside with my camera and I thought that this spider web was so lovely with the raindrops in it that I made it this day's blip; the water droplets really seemed to draw the light.

The soundtrack: Joan Jett, Have You Ever Seen the Rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.