The Bee-ginning of a Beautiful Friendship

The first thing I noticed at the lily pond was how beautiful the morning light was. We had drenching downpours the evening before, and it was the kind of rain that washed the world clean again so the sun could shine. The world it left behind practically sparkled.

The second thing I noticed was one pink lotus bloom, which is (as far as I can tell) the last of its kind. And so, of course I walked to a closer spot where I could photograph its beauty, when I noticed a pair of bumblebees playing a game - hide and seek, or maybe bumblebee tag - atop the pink bloom.

They took turns flying down into the lotus and crawling back up it. They flew around the top. They chased each other back and forth. It looked for all the world as though they were playing together and having a ball, and I enjoyed it so. And then they flew away. The lotus and I found ourselves bereft: somehow less than we were before. Alone. Bumble-less.

But what a good time we all had! And in this particular photo, just before they flew away, the scene reminded me of something. A scene from a movie, maybe? And then I realized which one. Casablanca! The scene at the end, where Rick and Louis walk way together, and Rick says, "Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship." Thus the name of this Blip. :-)

And so the song to accompany this happy morning scene of bumblebee-lotus delight is a tune about friendship. I hope you like it. It's Queen, with You're My Best Friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.