Spring Creek, Late August

It was a two-heron morning. Heavy rains were predicted for later on, but it was just drizzling a bit when I left for work. As I drove past Skytop Farm Pond, I spotted a small heron fishing in the light rain. A good omen for the day!

Last week, we had a few very lovely foggy mornings, and I tried to check out the mist along Spring Creek, only to discover that the road to get there, the one that runs by the airport, was unexpectedly closed. So my plans were foiled.

But on this day, the road was open. And so I stopped along Spring Creek by the spillway and the little rusty bridge, and was pleased to see that indeed there was a tiny bit of mist rising along the water.

It is late summer and the edges of Spring Creek are lush with vegetation. I spotted jewelweed (also known as touch-me-not) and joe pye weed (that's the pink stuff on the lower right that the butterflies adore) along the shores.

This is, of course, the same place where I found the Spring Creek Madonna and Child statue that I told you about in December of 2013. And also the second (and therefore new) Madonna from April of last year. Every time I visit, I look for them at the base of the tree by the creek. The spot is vacant, alas, and my heart mourns: I miss them still.

But I got some decent shots of the mist and the bridge. And then I drove along the creek, past the place that always has some of the best frost mist rising in winter time. But the thing is this: while the creek widens there, the road does not. And there really isn't anywhere close by to park.

As I drove past, I spotted a large group of mallards hanging out on the rocks in the middle of the creek. And as I looked more closely, what did I spy but a SECOND heron, this one full-sized! Hooray, a two-heron morning! But somehow, without a single photo of either one!

I stopped really quickly at Spring Creek Park, just for a few photos of the covered bridge. But almost the minute I got out of my car, it really opened up and began to pour.

And so I ended up taking refuge for a few minutes inside the bridge itself, snapping photos of the rain-drenched creek from inside. Thus ended any other parts of my photographic quest: called off, due to rain!

But before all of that, and before the localized flooding that occurred after gusty thunderstorms tore through in the afternoon, the creek was running deep and still as glass, as you can see in this photo. And so the song to accompany this day's image is a favorite of mine: Emmylou Harris, with Beneath Still Waters.

P.S. Those who liked this photo may also enjoy seeing several earlier versions of this same scene that made it to Blip:

Blue Canyon
The Valley of the Low, Low Sun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.