Bridge in the Mist

Conditions in central Pennsylvania have been quite damp in the past few weeks, with thunderstorms almost every afternoon or overnight. On this particular morning, I saw mist rising up out of the valleys, so I drove along Spring Creek and stopped to capture a few photos.

This is a little bridge over Spring Creek just above the spillway that I have photographed before. It's a favorite spot for morning mist, and I've photographed the spillway in monochrome; I've also photographed it when the light was blue . . .

Just above the bridge, on a cold winter's morning early this year, I saw a fisher for just a few seconds, my first one ever; too quick for my camera to capture it, though I tried, but pretty cool to see one nevertheless. On this particular early July morning, everything was damp and green. No fishers in sight (yes, I looked).

There is something about the mist that is timeless. It changes what it touches. It makes everyday things seem more magical and far away from the here and now. It softens my world and whispers quietly of peace.

And so I take a deep breath, and I step into that mist. I disappear, and am transported outside of time. I am become one with the mist and the water and the endless green.

The soundtrack: Van Morrison, Aryan Mist.

Aryan mist
Among the bridges
You hang by the river
You've been here forever
Aryan mist


P.S. Here's a second, bonus track: INXS, Mistify . . . um, I mean Mystify . . . Me. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.