In Which New Life Begins

Last week, I shared a picture of a red-winged blackbird nest that I found by one of my favorite little local ponds. On this day, I revisited that scene, and found four adorably awkward-looking, naked, pink baby birds in it!

They looked like tiny wrinkly aliens, just arrived on Earth, stunned and blinking, in that way that all babies do. But with feathers, sort of, or mostly fluff. I was charmed by the sight, but determined not to disturb them for long, so I tiptoed by, snapped a few quiet pictures, then left.  

The little birds seemed very robust and healthy. Perhaps they had been fed recently, as at this particular moment, they seemed peaceful and quiet. Actually, they were beyond quiet: the babies seemed to be mostly sleeping in the already-warm early-July morning sun.

It is always delightful to meet new babies. And in this case it was not just one new life, but four! And so I welcomed the baby birds to this great big, wide, beautiful world on behalf of all of us, wished them well, and took my leave; and set off to greet my work day with a huge smile.

I wanted the song for this image to be a lullaby, and here is one of my favorites. It was one of the first songs John Denver ever wrote, and it was actually dedicated to a girl, but I find it makes a lovely lullaby. In fact, it's one of the most beautiful songs I know, lyric-wise. So here is John Denver, with For Baby (For Bobbie). The song was also recorded by Peter, Paul, and Mary, and I've included a link to that version too. And I'm providing the first stanza of the lyrics below. (There is even a reference to baby birds!)  :-)

I'll walk in the rain by your side, I'll cling to the warmth of your hand.
I'll do anything to keep you satisfied, I'll love you more than anybody can.
And the wind will whisper your name to me, little birds will sing along in time.
Leaves will bow down when you walk by and morning bells will chime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.