Monarda Double Bloom

My butterfly and hummingbird garden has suddenly burst into bloom. The bright red monarda (or bee balm) began to open about a week ago, and they are looking fresh and colorful.

I haven't seen many butterflies or hummingbirds yet, but I do believe it was the Lady Greensleeves herself who buzzed the cat and me as we sat on our front porch on this morning. Then she flew around the side of the house to the butterfly garden, so I am sure she is aware the red blooms are here. She will be back, no doubt, with friends, in the coming few weeks, to enjoy them, and then the place will really be rockin'.

I was looking at the blooms on this day and noticed that this one is actually a double bloom, something I've never seen before. There is a large bloom on top of the plant, and then a smaller bloom rising up out over that.

In honor of the double bloom, the song to accompany this image is Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble, The House Is Rockin'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.