Winter's Magic

There is plenty to love about winter. I adore a good snowstorm. And the feel of a chilly breeze against my face makes me happy to be alive. What can I say? I was born in the month of December; the world when I first met it was covered in snow.

Snow is great and cold is good. But there are few things that compare to the magic of a good hoar frost. When winter comes, I watch the forecasts closely. I watch and wait like a hawk. I monitor the temperatures. I plot and scheme.

I try to get out early because that's when it's coldest; and the hoar frost never looks any better than it does by the first light of dawn. I bundle up (yes, playing in the cold is only fun if you have the right gear) and I stalk it with my camera, hoping against hope to catch the hoar frost show. And on this day, I did!

The temperature was around 5 degrees F (around minus 17 C) at home when I left, and I was headed for town, by roundabout way of Spring Creek. I was hoping there would be hoar frost along the creek, and I was not disappointed.

I stopped first at the parking lot by the rusty bridge, and as soon as I did, I saw it: frost mist creeping quietly along the creek. The hairs on my arms stood on end. THIS WAS IT!!! I couldn't believe my good fortune!

I took a number of photos of the spillway that I love, and as I was standing there, I noticed a hole in the ground near my foot. It was surrounded by white crystals and frosty water vapor was rising from it. Neat!

I walked along the creek and stood by the tree where last winter I found the Spring Creek Madonna. The statue is not there anymore, nor is the one that my friend put there to replace it. I miss them. 

From there, I drove down along the creek, and what a sight was waiting for me! As I rounded a hard corner, the sun was just starting to illuminate the valley and the mist was rising off the creek like silver-gray ghosts.

We've had a lot of snow lately, though, and none of the small parking spots along the road had been plowed. The mist was so close I could almost touch it - but I couldn't find a parking spot to stop and take any pictures!

I drove past, looking longingly at the creek, which was to my left. And the first road I found, I took it, and turned around, and came back. I wasn't going to let a little thing like no parking deter me on my quest!

In the end, I parked in front of two mailboxes where the road was a little wider, put the emergency flashers on, leaped out of the car with my camera, and jogged down the road. And I stood there taking picture after picture (including this one), almost holding my breath.

From there, I continued my little drive by turning onto Trout Road, where I snagged some decent hoar frost shots last year. The mist was rising in big billows off the stream. It was simply magic! There is no other way to describe it. And then, with a happy sigh, I closed up the camera and went about the rest of my day.

I wanted a song to accompany this image that included the word magic somewhere in it. I've already used many of my favorites, but here's one: The Police, with Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic. Now, bundle up, my friends, and get out and see the show!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.