Crystal Dawn

A bitter cold January morning. Dark, dark. All is dark and cold. When I awake, the temperature is about 10 F (-12 C) and then at sunrise it DROPS a few degrees.

I am in my car; I spot the beginnings of the sunrise. A hint of gold on the horizon that begins to grow. No warmth, but at least light. The snow on the far hill looks pink.

I look for a spot to pull over. It isn't easy these days. With all the snow we got over Christmas, there are several-foot drifts in some spots. All the ponds are frozen and covered in snow. Some of my favorite places to photograph, I can't get to now.

I find a church on the hill whose parking lot has been plowed; I step out into the cold. A small tree stands nearby, its branches stark and bare. There is an abandoned nest in the tree. Too cold for baby birds now.

And - what's this? The tree is full of SPARKLES! The hoar frost has covered every branch and twig with diamonds.

The sun rises. Cold beauty. My world sparkles and shines in the crystal dawn.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.