There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Here Comes the Sun . . .

"There was never a night or a problem that could defeat sunrise or hope." - Bern Williams

It was very cold last night, around 17 degrees F (about -8 C), and lake-effects snow winding its way over from the Great Lakes had brought us an inch of powdery whiteness.

The gray clouds have been around for what seems like forever, but as I drove to work, the clouds began to part for what promised to be some much-needed (although not very warm) sunlight.

The little pond that I pass at Skytop Farm - one of my favorite places to stop to capture the reflected sky - has started to freeze up. There is a thin layer of ice at the edges. In the middle, the water is still unfrozen.

As I slowly drove past, craning my neck to see, the clouds started to turn pink. I was already late, but the thought of sunrise called to my soul, called me back. I turned around and stopped for just a handful of shots.

The clouds were rosy; they promised something amazing was coming. And then . . . and then . . . the sunlight was streaming right into my eyes. The sun, bright shining in its morning glory, bringing with it the promise of a beautiful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.