The Marsh in Winter

Tuesday was my first day back to work since before Christmas, and boy, was it cold out! The temperature hovered in the mid-teens F (around -10 C).

Surprisingly, it was delightful to be out and about again. I had missed my morning excursions in the car.

I took a quick detour and spent twenty minutes visiting Millbrook Marsh. The snows that we got over the holiday break (and that my shoulders and back still remember shoveling) have left everything a winter wonderland of white.

It was almost too cold out for birds, but I did see a blue jay and a cardinal, and there were four ducks on Thompson Run. The kingfisher was nowhere to be seen . . . probably over at the Waffle Shop having a nice hot cup and a buttered toast with berry jam. Smart bird.

This photo shows a scene along Thompson Run; the wooden boardwalk that I like so much to photograph runs along the left edge of the photo. I love the way snow banks look along a stream this time of year. Winter's beauties leave me breathless.

You might think there would be no color in this white world. But there was plenty of gold in the bushes nearby, and even a flash of light blue sky reflected in these cold waters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.