Make Mine Music

And on this morning, I decided that, in fact, I was NOT going back to work. The weather forecast was calling for a powerful winter storm that would rage across the Northeastern U.S., followed by a possibly historic outbreak of cold temperatures. So I decided to take two vacation days to round out two full weeks at home in the middle of one of the most severe winters we've had in decades; decided, in fact, to stay home.

This meant I had more time to tackle my "to do" list, and get organized. I tore apart the middle bedroom, tried on ALL the black dress pants (finally!), got out my Casiotone MT-35 keyboard and put batteries in it, and stirred out a box of musical cultural artifacts that mark me as someone from the 80s.

The items in this photograph represent sheet music from that era, as well as music magazines containing song lyrics of top hits of the day (cherished possessions, all). And interviews with some of my musical heroes, of course.

Crooners whose tunes ended up among these artifacts: the Bee Gees, Billy Joel, Gordon Lightfoot, Joan Jett, Al Stewart, Queen, Neil Diamond, Air Supply, Pat Benatar, Kenny Rogers, Olivia Newton-John, Journey, Phil Collins, and others.

*sigh*

The soundtrack: Al Stewart, Time Passages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.