Snowfire

I discovered last winter, much to my delight, that I could achieve a pointillist effect by taking pictures of the sunlight through the condensation and frost on our bedroom window in the morning. (You can see last winter's condensation art here and here.)

It's been very cold and wintry here in central Pennsylvania. On Thursday into Friday, we got a winter storm that left us with several new inches of snow, and then we got dropped into the deep freeze: the temperatures fell to the single digits F (around -16 C). It was very cold, and there was lots of condensation, some of it frozen, on the bedroom window.

Looking through the window into the cold and snowy landscape, in the distance, I could see the first orange fire of sunrise coming.

Blue snow. Golden light. Snowfire.

The song to accompany this image: Ed Sheeran, I See Fire, from the soundtrack to The Hobbit, The Desolation of Smaug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.