Vilas County Fair....

....held in Eagle River this weekend. It's a relatively small fair, but we had a great time looking at everything! My sister, her new neighbor (Michelle) & I went, & of course I gravitated to the horses since I had one for years.  This is "Dakota", a very handsome fellow who's all tacked up and waiting for his performance--he and his rider are part of an Equestrian Drill Team that performed. We also met "Draco", a beautiful Belgian Malinois who is the "K-9" unit for Vilas County. He was a really sweet dog who loved being petted, but what a difference when he was "working"!  We watched the demonstration as his officer put him through his paces--he does searches, will attack on command, & will guard, among other things. They were there to raise money for their K-9 program, as Draco is 13, so they'd like to raise enough money to train a new dog and to retire Draco so he can relax! The extra picture I posted is for MadChickenWoman--if it weren't for her I'd never have given the chickens a second look, let alone spend half an hour talking to the chicken's owner, who loves all her chickens (she had at least 6 of them entered in the fair!) every bit as much as MCW loves hers! She told me all about this one, including it's name, breed, habits, etc. & was thrilled that I asked if I could take a picture of it--she even took it out of the cage "so the bars wouldn't get in the way"! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.