"Mommy! There's a fly on my tail!"

Dear Diary,

Yesterday was one of those absolutely perfect summer days.  Low 70's, low humidity, a gentle breeze and sunny blue skies.  I could sit in the sun and not feel uncomfortable.  Philly was sitting on the stone wall taking it all in too and I had a nice chat with her.  She stays very still, looking at me, while I talk to her.  I noticed a fly land on her tail and walk up and down it while i talked but she didn't move a whisker.  It was quite comical to watch.  Finally, Philly popped down a space in the wall and the fly, well, flew off!

Now, this might seem an odd encounter to some, standing there talking to a chipmunk, but I do it every day.  She seems to enjoy our little chats.  Hoover doesn't seem to have the complete trust that Philly has and rarely sits still for so long.  The way she looks up at me with those sweet button eyes is just adorable.

It was our first cool night last night and this morning it is just 45F but Philomena and Hoover are nice and warm in their burrows.  I leave later on this morning for a short trip to visit a friend in Hingham, Massachusetts.  I hope I will be able to post but we'll see.  I am looking forward to the little get away and I will leave extra seeds for Philly.  She knows I will be back, I told her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.