A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

In Flight

Day One on the Cheshire Canals

Llangollen 'Lock Labourer' here reporting back (I've got a badge!) On board we also have the Admiral & 3 Mutineers. Guess who's who!?

After an early start, we arrived yesterday afternoon in Nantwich, Cheshire & rendezvous'd with Dad & Jenny for lunch at the Marina. We were then introduced to our barge, 'Silver Moon', a fine specimen of nautical construction. Plenty of space inside & very cosy & well equipped too.

We set sail, or put the throttle into forward, & away we were. Very exciting. We tackled locks, cows & mooring before settling down to get angry with the TV signal during the Murray & Murray/ Robson Finals & 100m Finals, & with each other playing Tension (we didn't really 'cos Jen & I won! & it was a fun). Fantastic wins for GB today, so thrilled for Andy! Shame they couldn't get the double, but never mind.

I've seen so much to Blip already & my camera has been snapping all over the barge, but on our first day I couldn't resist featuring one of my fave's. This Moorhen was flying & skipping on the water after us as she thought I was throwing her something tasty. I wasn't. It was just my camera. And she's not having that. I'll be prepared next time though.

Looking forward to the more interesting sights the canals have to offer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.