Lisa's life...

By lisa24270

Angry

I thought graffiti might be my subject today when I saw the prompt was angry but then Stella and I went to the park...

There is a newish series of geocaches around Ely Country Park, we started them last week but got drenched in a storm doing the first! 

There was a message that the second had been disabled as someone was camping there and then another this morning saying that the campsite was now empty but some litter was left. The cache owner said they had re-enabled the cache but to take care as they wouldn't be back until the weekend to sort the rubbish.

I put a carrier bag in with my camera and caching tools expecting to find a couple of fag packets and crisp bags and drinks bottles and thought I'd clear it up while I was there. 

Oh my goodness...I instagrammed some of what we found but a carrier bag wasn't going to do it! There's old filthy bedding, broken bottles, something that must have been used as a grill over a hole in the ground, toilet paper in a tree, masses of food packaging (Stella found this particularly enticing), clothes hangers, broken camping chairs, and, goodness knows what else. I don't know where the shopping trolley came from as the supermarket next door is Sainsburys!

I'm amazed the place isn't crawling with flies and rats given the warm weather and it's so sad so see people being so disrespectful to pretty public places. The only silver lining is that we didn't stumble across a makeshift toilet!  

It really isn't the geocache owner's responsibility to get the rubbish removed either but, as a community, we do have what we call cache in trash out events so it's not unheard of for a bit of keeping Britain tidy to be going on. This will be going above and beyond though if the council have still done nothing about it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.