mef13

By mef13

Marina Life

Made a quick call to Ocean Village today, and whenever I am there I endeavour to find time for a stroll.
Like most port or marina areas there is always something to see and attract attention, even when there is little activity on the water itself.
But then, that is the attraction of marina life and one of the key elements to marinas which have a mix of residential and commercial development alongside the water which provides parking for leisure  craft of all types.
On my many visits to France and other parts of Europe, and further afield, I have always made a bee-line for the waterfront wherever I am visiting somewhere close to the water.  Mountain scenery is always electric, but for me the waterfront has the edge.
There have been many changes to the perspective of Ocean Village in Southampton from the time that I first knew it as a terminal for railway boats to the Channel Islands and northern France. That seems an age ago, and truth is, it was. But changes are still happening, and while the Royal Southampton Yacht Club on the right of my Blipfoto is a stabilising force, so will the newer apartment development close by, and in time the even newer development currently taking shape which will change the horizon yet again.

Yet the real attraction to marina life — any boat owner will tell you? It’s simply a fact that there is very little, if anything which can beat messing about in boats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.