I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Macro is HARD!

I ordered a set of extension tubes to try my eye at macro without spending a whole lot of money on a new lens.

This is what I found out:

1. All of you that have mastered this, I salute you.
2. This requires a lot of patience (I have asked for this, and I want it NOW)
3. You need a good set of eyes to tell when the lens is in focus.
4. You need to be quick to react.
5. You need to be willing to take LOTS of pictures for the possibility of      getting at least one.

This is a flower on a foxtail fern (Asparagus meyeri) quite like the one that Kimb posted Aug 19. I did find several ants on mine, but they were not interested in being in focus for me. Then a little tiny bee would show up and I could not react fast enough to get a good shot of the bee and flower. 

I did get a little frustrated when I thought I had good focus, but after uploading it to the computer, not so much. Cataract surgery is in my immediate future, so hopefully that will help with this little problem.

I do think I might, possibly, maybe, will enjoy this after I spend some time learning the focal points and getting a new set of eyes on my subjects.

I am grateful for all the inspiration, talent and knowledge that is gained by being a part of this community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.