Bus Challenge No 100!!

And a mini blipmeet!! Pepys Library, Magdalene College, Cambridge

Part 1

Another glorious hot, hot day and a wonderful mini blipmeet in Cambridge with Peachez and Brabecila! (Sorry, can't add links to their journals on iPad.) Living in Cambridge, Brabecila was our tour guide for the day, and first stop was Emmanuel College (extra No1). After a very tasty lunch (in a thankfully air conditioned cafe!) we moved on to Magadelene College (extra No2 and main photo) where we persuaded a very helpful passing tourist to be our official blipmeet photographer! We think he did a pretty good job!!

A visit to Cambridge wouldn't be complete without a look at the river and its punters (extra No3). As you can see, it was so hot in the sun that some of the punts were providing umbrellas for shade. Next stop was Sidney Sussex College (extra No4), then a quick look at Christ's College before a much needed sit down and ice cream at Christ's Pieces. Thank you so much to Brabecila for being our guide! Blippers are such lovely people!!

Part 2

Bus Challenge No 100 has to be possibly the worst bus journey I have ever had, in both directions! My first bus of the day was 25 minutes late, and it's only because the Ely to Cambridge bus was also running late that I was able to make the connection! As the Cambridge bus only runs every hour and I didn't have phone numbers for either Peachez or Brabecila, I was having palpitations!!

My return bus from Cambridge to Ely has to be the hottest bus journey I've ever had, hotter even than a Singapore bus! Half way to Ely the bus broke down as the engine had overheated!! After 20 minutes, we were able to continue our journey but the delay meant I missed my connection and I had to wait 1 hour 24 minutes for my last bus of the day! That's a very long time to sit on a wall waiting, especially when you're very hot and very tired!!

Total bus journey times = 2 hour 43mins
Total waiting time in between buses = 1 hour 28 mins (And that's not counting the 35 minutes I stood waiting for the first bus of the day!)
Total journey time = 4 hours 11 mins

Peachez: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2215201579609358471

Brabecila: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2215196801328220876

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.