Lunch with 'Mike the Bike'

"Well, we can continue our conversation outside, can't we?"
Well, what could I say?!

I set off from Clapham just before 8 to do a figure of eight around the Forest of Bowland; somewhere I'd not been before but spotted on the map the other day when I was in the van.  

I never forget just how lucky I am to be able to take off like this. It was all set to be another beautiful day. 

The low cloud was just showing signs of lifting as I headed south uphill.  Getting a little warm, I took my jacket off on a little flat part and happened to glance back to see the curtains being drawn open either side of Ingleborough. Quick photo opp and on my way again. Combined with the need to go slow to admire the views and the persistently undulating route I'd picked, it's been my slowest average speed today but, on my day trips, I really don't give a sprocket. It's been fabulous.

I headed past Stocks Reservoir and wondered whether to stop for a look over the high wall. Of course, I had to and discovered the mirror laying on the other side reflecting the low clouds most beautifully. Eventually, I reached the Trough of Bowland and headed up the valley being amazed that I'd found another really beautiful part of the country that's so close by. The heather cascading down the hillsides was a real picture and even more so as I headed on my loop around the back. The old trees on one section really felt quite different to anything I'd seen on a ride before.

At one point, I could see over to Blackpool Tower, Morecambe Bay and possibly the nuclear power station but I was staying inland, hugging the hills as I journeyed back round to Slaidburn.  The next section wasn't so exciting, perhaps because I was getting hungry, but it was also a little out of the central area but still with persistent ups and downs to test my legs.

It was in Slaidburn that I met 85 year old Mike. At the cafe counter, I was trying to squeeze as much milk as possible into my coffee that had arrived with caffeine for six when he struck up conversation.  He then joined me at my table for lunch outside and we enjoyed a chat about his little red sports car, life as a Floor Manager in the BBC, bikes, motorbikes, Le Tour, the Vuelta, Olympics, his red Ferrari jacket from an outlet in Italy... All sorts! He was divorced and philosophical about it. He was friendly and interesting. He could make and keep conversation. He was really rather good company. I spent far longer over lunch than I'd planned. And I enjoyed it.

I headed back northwest over another fabulous hill, perhaps my favourite one of the ride. The tarmac on the majority of the roads had been noticeably rubbish and slow going but here it was also improving.  Once I'd reached the top, the views across to the Lakes and then round to Kingsdale, Ingleborough and Pen-y-Ghent were astounding.  

Tonight, I headed back for bike maintenance 2 and have learnt about chain splitting and gear adjustments. I've concluded it's a bit like first aid courses... When you don't use it regularly, you forget the detail. This is my second course in a couple of years but being able to take my bike to this one has been much better. 

Now ready for bed. Big time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.