on reflection

I’m taking it easy today.  Anniemay is at the gym/coffee shop with her gym/coffeeshop buddies and so I take the opportunity to catch up on some of those jobs which are neither strenuous nor particularly important.  Which almost certainly makes them boring and explains why I need to catch up, because I’ve been putting them off for ages.  Because they’re boring …

One such job is to put an unused lens on eBay (other online auction sites are available…).  This means taking photographs.  I can’t understand why I am so ready to get my camera out for a quick blip, but reluctant to do the same when trying to sell something.  

But I can put it off no longer.  The handy distraction brought by the Olympics is no longer an excuse and - although I’m quite happy to watch re-runs of Frasier and 3rd Rock from the Sun - doing so in the middle of the day just doesn’t seem right somehow.

So I knuckle down to the job in hand.  The first thing I do is take a photo of the box - and when I see a vague image of my finger pressing the shutter reflected on the shiny surface of the box -  I realise this is Art and therefore worthy of blip; certainly not for eBay.

So if you’re stuck for a blip sometime, clear out your loft and sell something.  Or pretend to.   (My lens is now listed).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.