Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

Everybody's goin' surfing....

When deciding which picture to use for today's blip, I saw this one and noticed R's stance and immediately heard the surfing USA song in my head.

Today has been a lovely day spent with lifelong twin family friends. Friends that I met over 5 years ago and have remained friends with since.

It wasn't the best of starts to the day to be honest, mind you, most starts to the day at the moment are stressful from trying to get the girls to do as they are asked.

I have the girls three options when we were getting ready...
1) Eat breakfast nicely and then sit and read a book while I pack spare clothes for the water park, pack a picnic, hang the washing out and get the car loaded so that we can be on time to meet our friends
2) Eat breakfast nicely, help me to pack spare clothes, the picnic, help to hang the washing out and help to get the jobs done so that we can leave earlier than planned and get to the park earlier for extra fun
Or 3) Misbehave eating breakfast and generally give me reasons make us late whether that be to stop the bickering, interrupt the packing and do the jobs on my own which in turn will make us late to meet our friends.

Now the girls told me that they would prefer option 2; reality was a starter of option 2 but the smaller three got bored and went full steam into option 3! If it wasn't them winding each other up, they'd wind Kylo up as well. Seriously... Give me strength!!

We made it to Coventry War Memorial park in the end, our 10.30 meet up was in the end an 11.30 meet up and I felt ever so slightly better about my late arrival when two of the four families were later than me ;)

The children played fabulously together - to be fair they always do. The park had enough for the children to do, in a safe environment and in view of adults too. We were able to sit and catch up, whilst the kiddies played in the sand park.

Thank you ladies for a fabulous day, definitely looking forward to a full reunion that's just for the Mummy's ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.