Costa Rica Adventure...UnderFoot

I'm so very amazed at the numbers and diversity of species I've seen on this Costa Rican adventure. I am humbled, yes that's a good word for it, when our guide, Edwin, tells me that he's not able to name the white moth I took a photo of tonight with my phone, because with 11,000 named varieties and at least another 2,000 still to be 'discovered', he just isn't able to identify them all! And that's from the Best guide to the Natural World that I've ever met! That being said...
The tiny creatures in the photo above are Leaf-cutter Ants. These tiny workers are everywhere on the Forest's floor. I looked for an article that would adequately describe and explain these tiny creatures, Edwin (our Guide) told us that what these ants do on a daily basis would equal you or I carrying 50 pounds for 30 miles!  This article:  'The secret lives of leaf-cutting ants' from the TicoTimes offers some wonderful insight into the Leaf-cutters' lives. 
My 'Extra' today is of a Rufous-naped Wren. This sweet little bird, like wrens around the planet, sings a melodious song...loudly!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.