Adding a Touch of Class

Not too often that I adorn the meadows and fields of the parish with my John Deere. It's a bit embarrassing for the professional farmers when I cruise through the villages and turn all heads while they are all ignored.

Today our village and the parish capital, Sontheim both had the privilege as I went out to collect straw for the horse's winter bedding. The exercise had been organised by Farmer Franz who last Friday had suddenly been admitted to hospital after a seemingly minor "bump" on his elbow caused by a cow, turned septic. He was operated on Tuesday and again today. I spoke to him this evening and he hopes to be out on Monday.

The field belongs to a Sontheim farmer who I hadn't met before and today when the call came through that the straw was ready, I drove to their farm, was greeted by the wife and told to follow their young son out to the field where he very professionally loaded the trailer. Father had been riding with the contractor who was bailing and he jumped down and we had a short chat.

Thank you Farmer S and family in Sontheim and of course Farmer Franz together with best wishes for a speedy recovery.

Back home it was too hot to unload and with no risk of rain or storms, I hit the pool. Tomorrow morning will unload and store the bales. Will be interesting to see how we manage given my limited equipment.

Oh and by the way, the reason my old JD turns heads - it makes so much noise, mainly loud mechanical thumps that come from the front loader as the tractor bounces over every manhole cover. I tried using an expander to reduce the movement of the various parts but it didn't help. However the old gal did her bit and got us home safely with the load. I haven't yet heard any reports of ripped down fences or signposts.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.