Private Lucien Stephen

I had a day off work today and decided to make one of my too infrequent visits to the coast. I stopped off in Seaford to visit the Commonwealth War Graves sections of Seaford cemetry. Although a comparatively small town Seaford has 272 graves of (identified) servicemen (as well as a number of unidentified merchant seamen), making it the second largest war cemetry in Sussex. Most (253) of the graves are from the First World War and the vast majority (190) of these are Canadian's who died at the 10th Canadian Stationary Hospital in Seaford. But, in amongst the seried ranks of Canadians lie 19 men of the 1st and 2nd Battalions of the British West Indies Regiment. Private Lucien Stephen was one of those men. I don't know why I picked him out. Perhaps its because there are no details - no age, no next of kin - recorded in the register or perhaps its the date of his death - Christmas Eve 1915. I will try to find out more about him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.