Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Jumping into the light

Theme day for the Pentax Forums 'Single in" challenge today was "light". I had thought to grab a shot of the couple of early freesias that have popped open, once the light got round to them. However, making doughs for our schiacciata and the kids' pizza - after we got back from a trip down to the 'Riff - blew that away. I went down to train (a rather good session), and after videoing the (rather tricky) kata Enpi for my own review, I decided to snap off a pic of the jump - and say that met the theme in a bad-pun sort of way (being *light* in the air). As it happened, I jumped into the light coming over the house, so I'll say I met the theme twice. ;)

Flickr.

I was pleased with how Enpi went actually. I've had a mental block on it since I was training in the 80s, and disliked it intensely, without knowing why. Having recently figured out what it was, I began to feel better about the kata, and now I have no issue with it at all - and my performance has improved notably.

The jump is still very difficult: 360 degrees in the air, coming down both feet in stance and strongly... Not quite there yet

Takette 28/2.8@5.6;K-30;Tonality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.