Boys and Their Toys

Our church held its annual car show/carnival today. Cars, bounce houses, water slides, and BBQ. It was supposed to be open from 11 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. But, at 1:30 p.m., the skies opened up. Rain, rain, and more rain. Not heavy, but steady.

The things that ran on electricity had to be taken down, convertibles had to raise their tops, and the cars quickly left. (We didn't even get to pass out the trophies!)

I grabbed the chance to go inside and set up the chairs for tomorrow's worship hour, and 3 teens helped me.

But, through it all, the Jeep guys never left. They had been waiting all day for their chance to scale the "junk" cars.  I hijacked my wife's umbrella to shield my camera, and Merrick and I watched the four-wheelers.5 Jeeps attempted it, and 4 made it over.

These boys are nuts...they're not quite all there. But, I have to admit...it looks like fun.

NOTICE: Look closely at the last picture in the bottom right. You can see the tow rope pulling him off the car. In the picture next to it, he is hung up. You see...it doesn't matter if you do have 4-wheel drive...if all 4 tires can't touch anything. (I found that out once...when I bottomed out my old 1979 Jeep CJ5.)

https://www.flickr.com/photos/76781400@N06/albums/72157673055016635 For some old car shots...take a look at my Flickr page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.