Operation completed successfully

I know that some of you had doubts about whether I would get Jane's lens back together again.  I am pleased to report that the patient is now out of intensive care and is fully functional again.   The Error 01 no longer appears.

Here it is restored to its usual place on Jane's camera.  The thing beside it is the faulty iris assembly.

I said I was going to video the reassembly process but that plan went out of the window very quickly as it proved to be an incredibly slow and complex process.  Luckily I had laid all the screws out in a logical order and amazingly there are no screws left over!

I had to disassemble and reassemble it several times because of mistakes and I am now so familiar with the process that I could do it with my eyes closed.   At one point I had to completely go back to square one and start again.

I think it has taken about 10 hours in total so I don't think I will be going into the camera repair business.  I think it has saved about £100 so that is above the minimum wage.   However I think I could now do the whole job in about an hour.  It has given me an insight into how incredibly complex these lenses are.  It was also quite a lot of fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.