Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

More woe...

Decided to go to the doctors today as my wheeziness and coughing wasn't getting any better. I haven't seen my doctor for about 3 years, just go in for my annual flu jab and I see the nurse for that.

We had a chat about kindles to start with as I was reading mine in the waiting room when he came to call me in (only running 10 mins late, better than I was expecting!).

I was hoping he'd just give me a week of antibiotics and send me on my way, but I got weighed (oh very woe is me) had my chest and back listened to, and had to do 3 peak flow tests. I knew my 'puff' wasn't very good but at 280 'best of 3' when apparently it should be over 400 - think we can safely say I failed the test...

So I've got the antibiotics, plus a week of steroid tablets (scary, never had to take them before) and an inhaler in case I need one. Have to go back in a week to retake my test. Just to wind me up even more, he then decided that as I don't go to the doctors very often, it is about time I had some fasting blood tests for a range of stuff.

So I've gone from never going to the doctors to being a regular! Hopefully the pills will start kicking in soon... Luckily I don't feel too bad, just wheezy if I walk up the stairs or run anywhere (always unlikely).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.