2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

it was lighter fuel ...

With thanks to a colleague for the recommendation, recently bought the pictured 2014 Kate Tempest collection ...

... can't put it down - here's a poem from within:


On Clapton Pond at dawn

The pond was calm
the sky was new
your voice was soft your lies were true.
You were me and I was you
and I was going blind with you.

You told me I reminded you
of Venus when I smiled at you,
or angels that go flying through
the paintings in the quietest rooms
of galleries. Renaissance girls,
all soft curves and floating curls.
We sat there and the light shone through
the leaves and we admired the view.

I loved you.
I had died for you
that night,
I'd closed my eyes
and through the gaps
I'd sought the silhouette.
I'd given up my mind for you.
We did what all our kind would do.

You sat beside me, finding new
ways to look away.
You kissed me. It was lighter fuel.
It burnt the night away.
And when I took my eyes off you
I saw that it was day.

---

Kate Tempest (1985 - )

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.