Leiflife

By Leiflife

Compelled by Love

Each time I encounter this beautiful and charming little bird, I fall in love again. I watch with fascination as it bravely goes about its business... despite my attentive presence with my camera. Can she feel my love as well as my hungry need to record? This young green heron seemed unconcerned, continued its progress from bulkhead to post to decaying stob in search of minnows. Its sudden stabs at the water were lightning fast, and impossible to catch with my excited hand-held camera. And some of my favorite shots are blurred, but I like them anyway. I am using up my extras rapidly, but I simply have to share the variety. The changing water and the bird's odd shifts of character... I adore the one where she is looking straight at me: curiosity or indignation? Perhaps a little of both.

This is a very back blip. I've been trying to decide, trying to limit myself to one or two. I guess I can't this time.

This could be my last blip for about a week. I leave on Tuesday to go with my brother, John, on a road trip to Duke University in North Carolina for an art exhibit that will feature many of my father's paintings. It is my first real getaway in years because of physical issues, and/or because I couldn't bring myself to leave my dear old Music dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.