A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

The Plant Hunters, Lullingstone Castle

In todays world H&S plays a huge part and none more so than in public places. Today I visited The World Garden for their Plant Hunters weekend. We were told of daring do stories of these intrepid explorers who risked life and limb to bring plants back to the UK.

I do wonder if the measures taken to protect the visiting public from some of the more dangerous plants was less about the risk of eyes being lost and more to do with the method of finding so many corks...

Fun was had by all today especially by the many volunteers who dressed up as famous plantsmen/women of years gone by. I have added one extra to show the flavour of the day but there are 27 other images on my Flickr album if you care to peek.

Footnote: Matilda did me proud to and from the Castle. She struggled up on hill but that isn't too bad for such a grand lady. I will recheck her nuts tomorrow and do a few compression tests just to be totally happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.