But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Last Flower.

At least, it’s the last on this stem. There are some flowers with saturated colours that give me problems, Crocosmia being one of them; so this was largely an exercise in image control. Although the tones aren’t accurate, I have managed to eliminate most of the blocking of the reds as shown on my good monitor - though it's still crap on my laptop. I feel that I must have a perverted sense of humour, as I found the shape of the spike with the solitary flower on the end somewhat amusing; it was obviously embarrassed as, within minutes of me pressing the button, it had dropped  off.
 
The rest of the day was spent trimming the ivy that hangs over the garden wall and adorns the kitchen extension; the weight of the hedge trimmer is rather tiring after a few hours and my shoulders and back are now a wee bit sore. This year we haven’t done a search, but there were several active nests in the ivy, we could hear the chicks every time we walked past. I would guess that every jackdaw, magpie and rook knew about them as well; a couple  of years ago, a magpie raided a collared dove’s nest and the dove sat on the empty nest for months afterwards.


I've just posted last Sunday's, "Shakespeare."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.