Over the water

I'd been waiting for an opportunity to take the ferry over to Kerrera, just a few minutes by boat from the Gallanach Road, south of Oban. I'd rather forgotten how just far it was, never having walked there, and forgotten how sore my knees are getting!

It wasn't a bad morning and looked as though it might improve, so I packed a picnic and set off. It was a lot further than I thought, maybe a couple of miles - nothing at all at one time, but one isn't as young as one was! As I walked, I worked on a new theorem in my head; I'll have to find a way of writing it mathematically, but what it boils down to is this.

When you retire you have more time to walk, so you get fitter. As you age you get less fit. You therefore end up being just as unfit as you were before. Wilkins' Theorem. QED.

Anyway, having sailed over the water I proceeded to walk up to the spine of the island and sat down on some sheep shit to have a picnic. Then I did everything in reverse and got home mid-afternoon with sore knees and a few pictures. Here's one of them, looking down on the new breakwater just completed a few weeks ago. In the distance on the left you can see Oban. I live half-way up the hill out of sight behind the tree. In between is some water and lots of tarmac. Have a nice day everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.