Lady of Avenel

A mixed day today, but this afternoon I drove down to the Corran Halls and walked along the old carriage drive to Dunollie, as I'd been asked to look at a problem with the rhododendrons in the garden. Probably honey fungus rather than phytophthora. The house and castle are now run by a private trust and I think as a charity this could be a good workday for 'Keep Oban Beautiful' at some time in the near future. Lots of fallen timber and dead branches - good hygiene will be a start.

On the way back I noticed this ship motoring in and when she came nearer I discovered that she was the 'Lady of Avenel'. According to her website she's a 102ft brigantine square rigger with twelve berths - she takes visitors cruising around the coasts of Britain. I'd love to see her with her sails set!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.