Mono Monday: "(A Lovely) Sight" - A Tall Ship

"Sight" is the 5th of the senses chosen by our excellent MonoMonday host this month, JDO.

Many blippers who know of my previous profession may be expecting me to blip something related to eye treatments. Well, I was going to do just that, but changed my mind - read on.

The Tall Ships have been in Blyth harbour this weekend, and today was the day for them to parade down the coast before setting off across the North Sea towards Gothenburg. And it was a lovely day. So as a last-minute arrangement I met up with blipper Shygirl73 who kindly let me park my car outside her house, then we both cycled the 3-4 miles almost to Seaton Sluice to get a good vantage point - cycling proved a good way to get there as the traffic was pretty bad! (Unfortunately MrsC couldn't come with me as she's suffering from sudden nasty dizzy spells at the moment - almost certainly Meniere's Disease; she's hoping that the tablets she's been on for a month will control them but at the moment she's wary of going out in crowds in case an attack comes on.)

So this is my MM blip - the tall ships were a wonderful sight, and we enjoyed using our sense of sight watching and photographing them. The one I've blipped is called "DAR MLODZIEZY"; I Googled it when I got home and found that it's a Polish sail training ship, a prototype of a class of six, the following five slightly-differing units being built subsequently by the same shipyard for the merchant fleet of the former Soviet Union. It was built in Gdansk and launched in November 1981; it's the first Polish-built, ocean-going sailing vessel to circumnavigate the globe (1987–88).

View large for best effect here.

The extra is a selfie showing Shygirl73 in the centre, flanked by myself and a mutual friend Shirley (not a blipper, but a photographer) whom we met by chance. Shygirl and I didn't realise that we both knew her!

(PS Might add a few more extras of more ships later but I'm going out this evening - no more time at the moment!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.