(Mini-) Derelict Sunday: Window Frame

As I'm busy preparing to redecorate our bathroom following its refitting, I thought I'd take advantage of the "Derelict Sunday" challenge to blip a macro photo of some rot in the window frames. I'm hopeful that in fact they're not really too derelict as I'm planning to fill the gaps and repaint!

It's interesting that the 3 houses in which we've lived over the last 35 years have had progressively less rot in their (original) wooden window frames, even though the houses have been progressively older! The first house was only 20 years old and the frames were in a pretty bad state. The second one was 50 years old and the frames were rather better. Our present house is now 112 years old and the frames are still in remarkably good nick, much better than in the previous houses; the one pictured is the worst of all as it gets a lot of condensation dripping down the panes, being in the bathroom (hopefully our new extractor fan should help with that). Clearly they used well seasoned wood back in 1904!

This gives me a good line when folks accost me (in person in the supermarket entrance, or on the phone) to try to sell me double glazing: I just put on a very serious expression and say "Thank you but my windows are only 112 years old so they don't need replacing yet". Their training doesn't yet seem to provide them with an answer to that one so they give up on me straight away... ;-))

Many thanks to Admirer for hosting DS.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.