Don?t Know Nuffink

By Mrski1

Another SP!

I was expecting today to be a bit mad, what with going into Aberdeen city centre to finish off some christmas shopping, however, me and my mum decided to head in for 0830am, and it was suprisingly quiet, no one to bump into, no one to get annoyed with when they fail to hold doors open, and staff that could actually provide useful advice! Imagine that!

AND, It only took an hour and a half!

Just as well really as my mum had to be at the hairdressers, where I too got a trim, although knowing I would be waiting around for a quite a bit for my mum, I bought another cycling book, In Search of Tom Simpson, the British rider who died on the slopes of Ventoux in the 1967 Tour De France.

It provides a rather interesting insight as to why Tom Simpson passed away, if the combination of amphetamines and cognac before the monster climb was not enough, Tom Simpson also had a very strong will to win the 67 Tour, pushing his body further than it could physically go, and then there was the comment about the doctor who placed him on a helicopter to hospital, which apparently, due to the altitude limited the oxygen to his brain.

There also seems to be a big debate as to whether he should be regarded as Britains best cyclist due to the drug taking, before the 67 Tour he had proved his merits with wins on some of the classic races as well as pulling on the world champ jersey in 1965, and until Robert Millar, was the best placed Brit in a Tour.

Speaking of cycling, I'm supposed to be out on a training ride tomorrow however it is BUCKETING down, and my fetching lycra bib tights which I bought today have a rip in them, grrrrrrrrr!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.