Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

In golden light...

This beautiful beetle is considered by farmers and many home-gardeners to be a pest - it is a Spotted cucumber beetle  (Diabrotica undecimpunctata).  Since I don't do any vegetable gardening, I am always thrilled to find one of these colorful creatures.  This one was found on our walk this morning in a small patch of goldenrod growing at the edge of the woods.  Dappled sunlight through the forest canopy reflecting off the delicate wands of goldenrod gave this the most beautiful glow and it just had to be my "one photo" for today.  I had a hard time choosing which of two shots to use, so I posted the second one HERE on Flickr - I I like them both.

And if you need a woodpecker-fix, here's a ruffled downy woodpecker.  She is probably upset because the suet feeder is in the house instead of the garden.  Why, you ask?  Well, just moments before, I'd looked out the window to see a female black bear and her two unruly offspring on the patio, dining on bird seed!  I charged out with my paint-ball gun and shot Mama right on the butt at point blank range.  She sent the kids trotting into the woods, following right behind.  Just for good measure, I shot her again AND blasted the air horn.  Yep, Annie Oakley of the paintball world, that's me.  I know I should have taken some pictures - but bears on the patio just isn't a good thing - especially since I'd just been sitting out there myself moments before!  I can see that I'll need to buy more paintball ammo...

I'm off to the doctor shortly - I've gotten a UTI which, as anyone who's had one knows, is extremely uncomfortable.  So, I'll be on a course of antibiotics to clear it up - annoying but what can you do?

As my Hubs' people say...
Ciao!
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.