Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Seriously?

Just when you think you've seen it all... along comes a juvenile hummie with a few new tricks up his wing.  I was actually snapping some shots of the butterfly (spicebush swallowtail) when the hummie entered the frame, determined to vanquish the much bigger butterfly.  The butterfly, not up for a fight, left and then the hummer took about two sips and zoomed off after another hummer.  Crazy kids.  

A short while later, I watched as a juvenile hummer tried to sample our patio umbrella before landing on the sunflower seed feeder, determined to get nectar from it, evidently. He probed it a few times before zooming off.  (If you aren't familiar with hummingbirds, they only eat very small insects and nectar/sugar water - never seeds.)  

Earlier this morning,  gorgeous male Baltimore Oriole landed on one of our cherry trees for a moment; and shortly after a hatch-year flycatcher landed in the same tree.  The summer birds are definitely on the move now.  

I released Monarch # 19 today, a healthy male.  I think it will be a few days before the next batch start to emerge.  Meanwhile, I've got 7 or 8 tiny second instar cats in two smaller enclosures, keeping them safe so they can grow, pupate, eclose and head to Mexico.  I am so happy with how well this project is going this summer.  I learned a lot last year and I think that has really helped in terms of my success rates this year.  I'll certainly blow right past my goal of 25 releases since I've still got some 20 or so chrysalides.  (Big smiles).

Off to the dentist tomorrow morning before meeting up with my naturalist group for a walk.  Temps in the 80's, but tolerable.

Thanks so very much for stopping by - I'm hopelessly far behind on comments at the moment but will try to catch up sometime this week.  

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.